Aerosmith To Audition Steven Tyler’s Replacement

Steven Tyler's search for alternative employment didn't start too well.

Mammoth rock gods Aerosmith have announced plans to replace singer Steven Tyler, and quickly. Guitarist Joe Perry confirmed this in an interview with news agency QMI “We’ll start having some auditions, making some phone calls. Hopefully, we’ll have found a new singer by the summer, and Aerosmith will be able to go back out on the road”.

In the interview he detailed the problems preventing Tyler from touring with the band at the present time “He [Tyler] has to have leg surgery and foot surgery and it’s basically going to take him out of the picture for about a year, year and a half. So, in the meantime, the rest of the band wants to play. And I want to play with the other guys in Aerosmith. So the four of us are just making our plans. We’re gonna find somebody to get in there and fill that spot”

We here at Fancore are huge Aerosmith fans, and we can’t help but ask what the big rush is? For a band that doesn’t exactly take on a breakneck workload these days, sitting this year out and letting Steven recover wouldn’t end the world would it? What do you guys think? Should Aerosmith have gone the side-project route, or should they not let one man’s absence influence the band? Give us a shout on the comments section.

30 Seconds To Mars Announce UK Arena Tour

30 Seconds To Mars are kicking 2010 off with a bang after unveiling a February Arena tour across the UK.

The tour will coincide with the band’s latest album, This Is War which can be yours from 7th December, catch Jared Leto and the boys at:

19 – NOTTINGHAM Trent FM Arena
20 – MANCHESTER Evening News Arena
21 – CARDIFF International Arena
23 – LONDON Wembley Arena

Tickets will cost £22.50 for London and £20 for all regional dates, tickets are currently on sale.

Who wants their Fancore back?

‘Ello stranger! No we aren’t dead, yes we still like music and okay, fine we’ll keep writing about it for your pleasure. Where have we been? Well myself and Harley nodded off in a drunken stupor after Sonisphere and have woke up to find the site hasn’t been updated.

So screw it, we’re back and over the coming weeks and months we will be bringing hot shit such as a review of the new KISS album: Sonic Boom, an on-the-scene report from Enter Shikari levelling the Birmingham Academy and in November, a full 3-day rundown of the Hellfire Festival. We’ll also be the first and only place you need to be for the best rock, metal and punk news. Wanna read about AC/DC without skimming through the Kings of Leon articles? Then step through the doors my friends.

Fancore is back, and the revolution won’t be televised, but it will be blogged about.

All the best

Mr J.

The All-American Rejects For UK mini-tour

The All-American Rejects will be returning to the UK this Autumn, playing a trifecta of dates. The US pop-punk stars will be giving you hell at:

14 London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire
15 Manchester Academy
17 Nottingham Rock City

Tickets go on sale 10th July at 9am. For ticket availability, check here.

KISS’ Gene and Paul: the album will be ready in 3 days!


KISS frontman Paul Stanley and bassist Gene Simmons have released some more snatches of info on the band’s first studio album in 11 years. The Starchild had this to say on Kissonline.

“We’re about four days from finishing the new KISS album. Eleven tracks, and it IS everything I’ve told you. It IS classic. It IS all written within the band. And IT ROCKS BIG TIME! Tommy and Eric both handle lead vocals. The songs, sound and playing will knock your socks off. You will all be as proud and excited as we all are. Oh…and WAIT till you see the cover! We ARE just getting started!”

Demon and reality TV star Gene added this today

headed off to the recording studio to do some vocals on the new KISS STUDIO ALBUM (we’ll tell you the title later).

Gene Simmons

Exciting stuff, this just might be Fancore’s most anticipated release of the year, tell us what you think!

Tim “Ripper” Owens releases new song on Myspace


Former Armoured Saint and Judas Priest frontman Tim “Ripper” Owens has released a huge sounding slab of metal chaos over at his Myspace page. To hear some of the finest pipes in metal wailing over some shred guitars, get your bad selves over to to hear “Starting Over”

The track is off his upcoming album “Play My Game” which is set top feature contributions from former KISS axeman Bruce Kulick, ex-Megadeth four-stringer Dave Ellefson and current Dio member Rudy Sarzo.

“Elder” era KISS footage surfaces. Watch it here!

For the first time in almost 13 years, master tape footage of KISS during their ill-fated and short-lived “Elder” period has surfaced. The footage has been released by Eliteworks, an eBay seller currently auctioning a multitude of rare KISS merchandise from the personal collection of Curt Gooch, co-author of KISS Alive Forever. Check it out HERE

As well as this exclusive footage from the promotional tour of the much-derided album “Music from the Elder” (a closet Fancore favourite!), Eliteworks has also released unseen Australian tour footage and has many other rare KISS videos HERE. Elitework’s auctions can be found at this LINK