Fancore


Ryan Ross: “Panic! At The Disco Split Was Amicable”

panic

After news spread last week of Ryan Ross and Jon Walker’s decision to leave Panic! At The Disco (full story reported HERE), fans have been left reeling and wanting a better of explanation of why the split had to happen.

Founder of the band, Ryan Ross has spoken to MTV to explain exactly what the “creative differences” were between himself and frontman Brendon Urie that forced hisdeparture:

“It’s been a little while, a few months since we started thinking that this might be the best thing to do.” Ross told MTV.com. “Jon and I had been writing a bunch of stuff on the road, and it just got to a point when we were off tour…that it became pretty apparent that we all weren’t wanting to go in the same direction. There was a period where we weren’t really talking to each other all that much, and Jon and I were just living at my house and continuing to write. And we kind of realized we needed to get over not speaking and figure out what was actually going on. So we all sat down and pretty much came to the conclusion that the best thing for everyone was to do what we did.”

Many fans had speculated that Ryan and Jon were reluctant to return to the band’s signature sound, especially after the remaining members of Panic! posted a new demo last week (found HERE) that sounded distinctly similar to debut A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out. According to Ross, both parties had two very drastic directions that they wanted the band to go in:

Brendon has always been a fan of pop music, but that’s such a broad term, because I guess I would say I would be too, but in a different way. Jon and I are still very much influenced by the Beatles and Beach Boys stuff and the Kinks and stuff like that. And so that’s the stuff we were writing at my house … that’s the stuff we’re going to make now. I haven’t heard any of Brendon and [drummer] Spencer [Smith]’s stuff, to be honest.”

Despite his lack of knowledge of his former bandmate’s affairs, he assures fans that the split has not ruined the foursome’s friendship: “There was really no argument, which is really the best way that could’ve worked out. … I think really everybody will be happy doing what we’re doing. Me and Jon are really excited about what we’re working on, and those guys are happy too. I guess it got to the point where there might have been too many cooks in the kitchen.”

The same, however can perhaps not be said for Ross’s former mentor, Decaydance Records top-dog/Fall Out Boy bassist Pete Wentz: “I haven’t spoken to him in a while, since this happened. I guess I’ve been meaning to call him back. He called me, but I’ve missed a lot of phone calls this week,” Ross said. “We’re not sure [whether Ross’ and Walker’s new band will be on Wentz’s Decaydance Records]. I’ll have to talk to him, but obviously from what’s happening online, I think he’s … he’s written a lot about them. I don’t know if they’re working together on their stuff. I’m not really sure, but it’s been awhile since we’ve spoken. It’s strange. It’s kind of weird.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

