Fancore


System Of A Down Drummer Auditions For Smashing Pumpkins

It has been revealed, via a blog on The Smashing Pumpkins‘s Official Website that System Of A Down drummer John Dolmayan is one of twelve hopefuls who have auditioned for the now vacant post.

This morning’s update was as follows:

“In total, 12 drummers were auditioned [in Los Angeles] on Tuesday. An additional tryout could potentially be held in May due to such overwhelming response to the audition process. Overall, the drumming auditions were considered a very positive experience. The talent in all the drummers that tried out was incredible. Some of the candidates include John Dolmayan of SYSTEM OF A DOWN and Frank Lenz, a past bandmate of guitarist Jeff Schroeder from THE LASSIE FOUNDATION.”

The legendery Illinois Alt-Rockers had recently announced plans to allow an open casting call for all willing sticksmen, following longtime drummer Jimmy Chamberlin’s departure from the band. Following the announcement, the former drummer posted a statement on his personal blog, calling the departure “a positive move forward” and adding, “I can no longer commit all of my energy into something that I don’t fully possess. I won’t pretend I’m into something I’m not. I won’t do it to myself, you the fan, or my former partner. I can’t just, “Cash the check” so to speak.” Chamberlin also commented on Billy Corgan’s decision to continue to use The Smashing Pumpkin’s name, saying: “My best goes out to Billy and I’m glad he has chosen to continue under the name. It is his right.”

Photo Credit: Kateri Forbes (SmashingPumpkins.com)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

